In April 2016, I get to return to New York City to present three talks about all of my favorite topics: digital pedagogy, Forget Me Nots, and beautiful books. Often, when a non-academic asks me my field, I describe my work with integrating digital tools into all of my courses and then move onto describing my literary field and then one more field added to talk about print culture in the early 19th century. Recently, I’ve abbreviated my answer to: “I’m a professor of literature and technology.” This always draws confused looks from my pals from the surrounding Silicon Valley tech firms: “How can literature and technology even remotely live together?” they ask. All of my work has grown from a curiosity about the dissemination of information in the explosion of print materials in the early 19th century. This inherently includes the mechanization of printing materials and later includes stereotyping and the advances in reproducing complex artwork as engravings. My response to my techie friends is always: “I teach and work on issues surrounding the mechanization of print in early 19th-century England to Facebook in the early 21st century.” An illuminating moment. They see the connection.

With this trip to New York City, where I earned my chops as a textual scholar, bibliographer, archivist, feminist, literary critic, scholar, and nascent Digital Humanist (before we called it DH), I return to discuss all of my passions under the umbrella of digital pedagogy and literary annuals — all topics stemming from two projects: Forget Me Not: The Rise of the British Literary Annuals 1823-1835 (Ohio UP 2015) and Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities: Concepts, Models, and Experiments (Modern Language Association ongoing open access).

  • Forget Me Nots, Keepsakes, and Literary Souvenirs: Building an Empire of British Literary Annuals during the Romantic Period” (April 19, 6-7pm, Rm. 319). Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle & New York Romanticists’ Friend Society, New York Public Library (open to public)

  • Putting the ‘Digital’ into Digital Pedagogy” (April 20, 1-2:20pm, Peruggi Room). Center for Teaching Innovation & Excellence, Marymount Manhattan College (See CTIE flyer):  Special guest Katherine D. Harris, Associate Professor of the Department of English and Comparative Literature at San José State University, joins us for a talk that highlights the diversity of digital pedagogy assignments and introduces new and experienced digital pedagogy practitioners to useful repositories of teaching materials, and provides a hands-on demo of three types of digital pedagogy assignments: bloom and fade (single, low-stakes class assignment), digital tool assignment (e.g., use of Twitter), and scaffolded digital project (long-term across the semester). Inherent to this final type of digital pedagogy, Harris will discuss explicit practices for teaching and assessing student collaboration to help revise student ennui toward “group work.” (See resulting slides & references)

 

 

 

Please join me at any or all of these talks. I’m really looking forward to this trip!