Katherine Harris: “Digitizing our Feminist Selves: Remediating the “Archive” with Digital Interventions” from Scripps College on Vimeo.

I’ve been invited to give a public lecture and a fellows seminar at the Humanities Institute, Scripps College this coming October. Their theme, social media/social change: negotiating access, control & unrest in the information age, seemed somewhat out of range for me until Scripps’ resident Digital Humanist, Dr. Jacqueline Wernimont, and I started brainstorming about digital archives, silences, feminism, digital interventions, and all those recent conversations surrounding theory in DH.

My talk, “Digitizing our Feminist Selves: Remediating the ‘Archive’ with Feminist Digital Interventions,” will stem from my work with students but more importantly will push forcefully into issues about feminism and the digital world, something I’ll also address in my MLA talk next January.

If you happen to be in the Los Angeles area on October 30, 2012, please join us 7:30-9:30pm.

Brief Description:

In “The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House,” published in 1984, Audre Lorde identified a schism in feminism that completely changed the movement to include missing voices, those voices that did not align themselves with patriarchal control, voices that refused to work within the system to gain power. We find ourselves at another crossroad today concerning, again, feminism and our digital selves. Big data, funding agencies, even institutions of higher education have ignored growing silences in our archives, those records of important cultural and historical moments. They’ve forgotten that there are voices being buried and unheard and that these are the voices of women, both past and present. In my work and as my pedagogical self, my students use digital technologies to unearth women’s voices in literary studies. Their sense of discovery, screwing around, adventure, detective work gives them some ownership over the materials and mediates their lives on a daily basis. But where are all of the feminists after doing this work? Why are we not translating this sense of discovery and power into the current instantiations of digital selves?

Suggested Readings: See the talks and blog posts available on triproftri.

It turns out that I’ve been talking about this since I first started my official years as an academic. See my talk back in 2006 for New Hampshire University: From Conduct Books to Idiot’s Guides: Literary Forms of ‘Feminine’ Instruction,